#BlogTour “The Eagle” by Jillian Dodd

eagle_book_tour

Revenge won’t change anything—or will it?

The Eagle by Jillian Dodd NOW AVAILABLE!!


theeaglereview My musings…

3.5 SPY WORTHY CROWNS

Jillian Dodd continues the suspense filled tale of revenge with The Eagle, and leads the reader through an action packed tale of secrets and missions.

The main character of this book, X,  is one that I found hard to connect with during The Prince.  She, however, becomes more relatable in this book.  The reader gets more of her background and understands more of her motivation.  Additionally, the reader gets to see more of her emotion, even when she tries to repress it.  One of the aspects of the first book that I didn’t like was her aloofness, but her reason behind being detached becomes more clear during the second book, and the reader becomes more sympathetic to her as a character.

The two main male characters, who are also her love interests, are good characters, but I have found that I don’t like one over the other.  Neither has qualities that are bad, and both seem to be after the same thing when it comes to her.  Honestly, the reader sees very little interaction between her and the two guys that it is hard to have an opinion or couple to root for.

The plot of this story is complex, and it has a lot of parts that are slowly being revealed to the reader with each new installment.  There are so many characters we don’t know yet, as well as the mystery of the school and the suppressed memories.  There is also the ever present threat of completing missions, protecting the people she cares for, and seeking revenge, all leading the reader to sit on the edge of their seat.  The one aspect of the story that I wish would be more developed is the romantic aspect of the story.  As I said before, I have no feelings toward either potential couple, so I wish there would be more about them.  If there would be an increase in this aspect of the story, then this would easily have been a 4 CROWN read.

Jillian Dodd has created a world of intrigue and mystery, so if you love a little suspense with your romance, then The Eagle could be the book for you.  Check it out!

ARC received in exchange for an honest review.


the-eagle Synopsis:

Can one girl save the world?

From USA Today bestselling author Jillian Dodd comes the first book in a sizzling new series filled with action and adventure. Fans of The Selection and The Hunger Gameswill discover a heart-pounding thrill ride of espionage and suspense set in glittering high society.

An eighteen-year-old covert agent is pulled out of training before graduation by Black X, a espionage group so secret even the President of the United States doesn’t know it exists.

For her first mission, she must go undercover as the long-lost daughter of a recently deceased billionaire, infiltrate high society, and protect the Prince of Montrovia from assassination. But Prince Lorenzo is known as the Playboy Prince for a reason and his sensuality and charisma add a whole other level of complication to her mission.

She knows that her every move is being watched, but what she doesn’t know is that the Prince is just a chess piece in a bigger game that will have world-wide ramifications. And that Blackwood Academy, the place she has called home for the past six years has secrets of its own.

With a kickass heroine and intrigue, this page turner will have you spellbound and drooling over your new book boyfriend. – H.M Ward, NYT Bestselling author

The Spy Girl series is an intrigue filled, exciting ride through a world you’ll wish you were part of and want to know more about! J. Sterling, New York Times Bestselling Author.

Get your copy today!

Amazon US ♦ Amazon UK ♦ iBooks ♦ Nook ♦ Kobo ♦ Google Play


the-eagle-promo-teaser-1

Excerpt:

“No, Huntley, I did not.” He sighs. “Even though I was upset to learn the truth about you, I’m certainly not over you. And I could never offer you up to another man.”

A quick glance over the railing confirms that Daniel is still training in the pool a deck below. Knowing I won’t be overheard, I say, “I’m sorry, Lorenzo. If I weren’t who I am, if I didn’t have to do this—”

“Things would be different,” he says, finishing my sentence. “I know. I’m a King and you’re—you. It would never work.”

“Right.”

“But what if it could?” he asks.

“The only way it could is if one of us were willing to quit.”

“I can’t quit my country.”

“So you want me to quit?”

“I’m not sure. I have so many unanswered questions.”

“What were you told about me?”

“Very little. The man who called simply stated that your training and cover had taken years to put into place. He then requested I not tell a soul, for your personal safety.”

“Lorenzo, it’s one thing to know what I do. It’s another thing to have witnessed it.”

“While I will admit your talents are slightly unusual, it doesn’t make them any less spectacular.”

“You saw me kill people. I’m good at it.”

“And thank goodness that you are, or I’d be dead.”

“And I’m a liar.”

“I watched you work the crowd to perfection at both the Queen’s Garden Party and Her Majesty’s Royal Ball. Where I come from, we call that being diplomatic.”

I laugh out loud. “You almost make me feel like a normal girl.”

“Will you tell me how you ended up in this profession at such a young age?”

“Can I be honest with you?”

“Of course.”

“I’m not doing this for my country.”

“Good, then it will be easier to convince you to live in mine.”


 


GIVEAWAY

the-eagle-giveaway

Win a Kate Spade handbag & signed paperbacks of the Spy Girl Series.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


the-prince-cover Synopsis:

Can one girl save the world?

From USA Today bestselling author Jillian Dodd comes the first book in a sizzling new series filled with action and adventure. Fans ofThe Selection and The Hunger Games will discover a heart-pounding thrill ride of espionage and suspense set in glittering high society.

An eighteen-year-old covert agent is pulled out of training before graduation by Black X, a espionage group so secret even the President of the United States doesn’t know it exists.

For her first mission, she must go undercover as the long-lost daughter of a recently deceased billionaire, infiltrate high society, and protect the Prince of Montrovia from assassination. But Prince Lorenzo is known as the Playboy Prince for a reason and his sensuality and charisma add a whole other level of complication to her mission.

She knows that her every move is being watched, but what she doesn’t know is that the Prince is just a chess piece in a bigger game that will have world-wide ramifications. And that Blackwood Academy, the place she has called home for the past six years has secrets of its own.

With a kickass heroine and intrigue, this page turner will have you spellbound and drooling over your new book boyfriend. – H.M Ward, NYT Bestselling author

The Spy Girl series is an intrigue filled, exciting ride through a world you’ll wish you were part of and want to know more about! J. Sterling, New York Times Bestselling Author.

Get your copy today!

Amazon US ♦ Amazon UK ♦ iBooks ♦ Nook ♦ Kobo ♦ Google Play


About the Author:

jillianJillian Dodd grew up on a farm in Nebraska, where she developed a love for Midwestern boys and Nebraska football. She has drank from a keg in a cornfield, attended the University of Nebraska, got to pass her candle, and did have a boy ask her to marry him in a bar. She met her own prince in college, and they have two amazing children, a Maltese named Sugar Bear, and two Labrador puppies named Camber Lacy and Cali Lucy. She is the author of the That Boy Trilogy and The Keatyn Chronicles Series.

Stalk Her:

Website |Facebook | Twitter |Instagram | Goodreads


Happy reading,

Small-logo-small-jpeg

trsorpromo

5 Comments

    • I usually really enjoy her stories, but I am having a really hard time connecting with any of the characters. I am not sure if it is the short snippets of the story over an extended period of time or what. It is still well written, I’m just not connecting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *