#ReleaseBlitz “This is Beautiful” by Kennedy Fox

 Title: Checkmate: This is Beautiful
Series: Checkmate Duet Series (Logan & Kayla, #2)
Author: Kennedy Fox
Designer & Photographer: Sara EirewGenre: Contemporary Romance
Trope: Second-Chance Romance
Release Date: September 19, 2017
Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2pbTtV1

My Musings…

4 Heart Breaking CROWNS

I may have survived the Checkmate series, but barely. Each of these stories is filled with such angst and heartbreak that I felt my insides ache, and although, team Layla is not my favorite of this duet series, their story is the most heartbreaking.

Logan, if possible, just got better in This is Beautiful. From the way he cares for Kayla to the sacrifices he makes for her and the countless selfless acts his real makes this knight in shining armor shine a bit brighter. His endless understanding, though, is what makes this story hurt so bad. With every day that passes, we see how each forgotten memory is a lash to his pure and kind heart, and every time he felt it, I felt it, too.

Not only will readers feel bad for Logan, but they will also have immense sympathy for Kayla. It would be hard enough not to remember your life but to forget a love so EPIC and have constant reminders is nothing short of tortuous. Her desire and need to retain what she had, and the fact that it just seems to be just out of her grasp is infuriating for Kayla and readers alike. Because these two are so amazing together, readers feel it all, and it is so gut wrenching.

This is where my review gets a little bit difficult to articulate why it is a 4 crown book versus a 5 crown book. The plot progression is wonderful, the treatment of their conflict is flawless, and even though Kennedy Fox toyed with different avenues for each character, which is alluded to in book one of the duet, I enjoyed the journey they took Kayla and Logan on together. Overall, it just lacked something for me as a reader. I want to say it is was the climax of the story that didn’t have enough punch, but that might make me the meanest reader ever. I mean, they have been through a lot, so maybe the deserve a quick and and happy falling action and resolution, but I needed it to match their anguish or be reflective of that. Although, I would have liked a more emotional pivotal moment, the reconciliation and epilogue are fantastic and left me with a smile.

The Checkmate series has been quite the journey. Filled with OMG moments, smutty scenes with dirty talking heroes, and epic romances, it is certainly a group of characters I won’t forget. They led me to the amazing duo of Kennedy Fox, and I’m excited to see where these ladies take us next

ARC received in exchange for an honest review.


The anticipated conclusion of the Logan & Kayla saga in the Checkmate Duet Series from duo of romance authors under the USA Today bestselling author pseudonym, Kennedy Fox!

This second-chance romance will have you gasping and cheering this two on from the first to the last page! Are you ready to play the final game?
Kayla Sinclair is a saint and real life Angel.
She wears her heart on her sleeve and inspires me to be a better person.
Rescuing dogs, feeding the homeless, volunteering at the local food pantry are just a few of the ways she gives back to others, although no one has ever been there for her.
Falling for her was inevitable, losing her will destroy me.
Letting someone in didn’t come easy, but she made me want to try for the first time in years.
Her bubbling personality and kind spirit make it impossible to forget a girl like her.
But when tragedy strikes and she loses all memory that our relationship ever existed, my worst nightmare comes to life.
I’ll do anything to remind her of the love we shared. I know it’ll be an uphill battle, but I won’t walk away without a fight. Whoever said all is fair in love and war never played by my rules.
Checkmate, Angel.
*Recommend for ages 18+ due to sexual content and adult language.*
**This is book w in the Logan & Kayla Saga–a second-chance romance. Must read This is Dangerous first. However, you don’t need to read any of the other Checkmate duet series to enjoy this one, but it’s recommended as they are both introduced in the earlier books.**

Amazon US ♦ Amazon UK Amazon AU ♦ Amazon CA ♦ iBooks ♦ Kobo ♦ Nook







Many people have asked up what’s coming after the Checkmate Duet Series.
We are planning to release A WEEK WITH A BAD BOY together under Brooke and Lyra on October 19, 2017! We can’t wait! It will be exclusively on Amazon and enrolled in Kindle Unlimited.

Sign-up to receive a notification when MWWTBB is live!



Early 2018 we will start releasing the BISHOP BROTHERS Series!
It’s an interconnected stand alone series that will follow Courtney’s 4 brothers! Yes, all 4! We’re so excited about this and can’t wait to tell you more. If you would like to know the titles, please CLICK HERE! We’re still in the early planning stages but will update our “coming soon” page with more info as soon as it’s set in stone.

sign-up to participate in the cover reveal, release day blitz, & ARC reviews! http://bit.ly/2vx1fMm
you can sign-up now to apply for our ARC review team! http://bit.ly/2hTshKO
make sure to add this to your TBR list! http://bit.ly/2fFJpmG

Brooke Cumberland & Lyra Parish are a duo of romance authors who teamed up under the USA Today Bestselling pseudonym, Kennedy Fox who share a love of You’ve Got Mail and The Holiday. When they aren’t bonding over romantic comedies, they like to brainstorm new book ideas. One day, they decided to collaborate and have some fun creating new characters that’ll make your lady bits tingle and your heart melt. If you enjoy romance stories with sexy, tattooed alpha males and smart, independent women, then a Kennedy Fox book is for you!

Happy reading,



  1. I fell madly in love with this entire series, especially Logan & Kayla’s duet, and I’m sad it’s complete. Can’t wait for more from Kennedy Fox!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *