promised nights

Amazon: 4.4 stars

Goodreads: 5 stars


I’ve been in love with Luke Daniels since, well, forever. As his sister’s best friend, I’ve spent over a decade living in the friend zone, watching from the sidelines hoping he would notice me, pick me, love me.

I want the fairy tale and Luke is my Prince Charming. He’s tall, with shoulders so broad he blocks out the sun. He’s kind with a smile so dazzling he makes me forget everything that’s wrong in the world. And he’s the only man that can make me laugh until my cheeks hurt and my stomach cramp.

But he’ll never be mine.

So I’ve decided to get on with my life and find the next best thing.

Until a Wonder Woman costume, a bottle of tequila and a game of truth or dare happened.

Then Luke’s licking salt from my wrist and telling me I’m beautiful.

Then he’s peeling off my clothes and pressing his lips against mine.

Then what? Is this the start of my happily ever after or the beginning of a tragedy?

My musings…

I first came across Louise Bay’s books when her Empire State trilogy went on sale.  I enjoyed the story and her writing, so I thought I would check out the next installment when it released.  I have now read 3 trilogies by this author, and I have yet to regret a purchase.  Her characters are interesting, and the plots, although they follow typical tropes, are still engaging.  This book is the second in the series, but it can be read as a standalone.  It will contain characters from the previous the book in the series, but you don’t need to know their story to enjoy Promised Nights.

Price: .99

Amazon US

falling box set


Book 1 – This Is Falling

Amazon: 4.7 stars     Goodreads: 4.06 stars

Two years had passed since I was the Rowe Stanton from before, since tragedy stole my youth and my heart went along with it. When I left for college, I was going to cross back to the other side, to live with the living. I just didn’t know how. And then I met Nate Preeter. An All-American baseball player, Nate showed me everything I’d been missing. And then he showed me how to fall.

Book 2 – You and Everything After

Amazon: 4.6 stars      Goodreads: 4.10 stars

I’m Tyson Preeter: strong, intelligent—arrogant. Since losing my ability to walk six years ago, I relearned life. I don’t do sympathy, don’t want charity and don’t need love. But Cass Owens is about to wreck everything. She’s about to steal my strength because she needs it more. She’s about to break my rules, then tear down my walls.
She’s about to own me, completely.
And I’m about to let her.

Book 3 – The Girl I Was Before

Amazon: 4.6 stars      Goodreads: 4.19 stars

The selfish one. I suppose that’s the nicest thing people say about me. But I’m ready to make the hard choices and face the consequences. I’m ready to be the girl I was before, and I’m done being the one who lost her way. I’m ready to become the Paige Owens the Houston Orr sees when he looks at me. Loving him wasn’t part of my plan, but it happened anyway. I’m starting to think plans are overrated.

My musings…

Once again, I have not had the pleasure of reading books 1-3 in this series, but it comes highly recommended from my book partner.  She texted me early, like 7 AM on a Saturday, to tell me how much she loved book one in the series.  She insisted that I buy it right away, and, because I trust her judgment with books, I did.  I have yet to read the series, but this is a great deal.  You are getting all 3 books for the price of one.

My friend’s love of this book and author is the reason I read the ARC for book 4, In Your Dreams.  I didn’t love this book, but I liked it.  I can’t put my finger on why I didn’t like the book.  There were no glaring errors or characters I disliked.  There were no holes in the plot or absurdities that drive me crazy.  In fact, I adored the main character, because he wasn’t your typical male hero.  This was simple case of I didn’t connect to the story.  Because I disliked nothing about the book, I am going to continue with the series and have already purchased this box set.

Price: 2.99 for 3 books

Amazon US

chasing rhodesAmazon: 4.2 stars

Goodreads: 3.70


Hannah Rhodes has just gotten out of a long term relationship, and she isn’t looking for a new man in her life. But after a night out with the girls and one too many tequila shots, her plans to stay man free are blown all to hell. She finds herself in bed with the smoldering stranger from a party six months back and immediately knows she’s in trouble, big trouble. And the last thing Hannah needs is more trouble.

Her last relationship took her out like an emotional freight train, and she’s trying to piece back the stability her life once had.

Greyson Holt’s biggest fear in life is to end up like his father, like the man who left him as a child, and broke his mother’s heart. He vowed to never be responsible for that kind of carnage. Men could be cruel and that kind of brutality was in his blood. He never allows himself to get too close to anyone, until he meets Hannah.

Something about her makes him want to try, but a man can’t change overnight.

Will Holt be able to catch Rhodes every time he lets her go? Or will their chase end in heartbreak?

My musings…

I have not read this series, but it sounds interesting and is free.  This is the perfect time to try out the author and the series to see if it is for you, as this is book one.

Price: Free

Amazon US

breaking bennett

Amazon: 4.7 stars

Goodreads: 4.36 stars


Beth Rhodes has always had a game plan. Go to college. Get the perfect job. Get the perfect guy. Get the happily ever after she’s always wanted. It is just her luck that everything falls into its precise place in her life. At least it seems that way until her blueprints go up in smoke. She loses the job she loves and her prince charming is turning out to be the villain of her fairytale instead. With failures and mistakes piling up on her doorstep, she knows something has to give—or she could very well end up paying for those mistakes with her life.

Braxton Bennett is lethal, both in the courtroom and in the ring. Two sides of him constantly wage war against one another, and to keep the internal bloodshed at bay, he allows himself to indulge in his violent vice. Suit by day and brawler by night aren’t easy dual lives to manage for a man of his status. The only way to do so is by following a strict set of rules—rules he won’t break for anyone. But what if he already has?

On a summer night in the depths of the city, a chance encounter will turn both of their perfectly constructed worlds upside down.

Will they battle together against all odds to break Bennett’s rules? Or will Rhodes tap out to save herself before the fight is over?

My musings…

I have not read this book in the series either, but it is on sale for .99.  If you pick up the first one and like the style of the author, then Breaking Bennett, would be another great purchase.  This can be read as a standalone if this story sounds more interesting to you.

Price: .99

Amazon US

Happy reading,


**Products and prices are accurate at the time of posting, but are subject to change.  Please verify all prices on Amazon before purchasing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *